teamloy

"And He said to them, 'Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation.'" – Mark 16:15

Book Review – Sacred Companions: The Gift of Spiritual Friendship & Direction

Leave a comment

Sacred Companions: The Gift of Spiritual Friendship & DirectionSacred Companions: The Gift of Spiritual Friendship & Direction by David G. Benner

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I chose to read this book because I was intrigued by the idea of a “spiritual friendship,” how it differs from mentorship, and how I could be put it into practice. Upon completion, I definitely have a better understanding of what it entails. Simply put, “the task of spiritual friends is to help us discern the presence, will and leading of the Spirit of God.” The notion of a spiritual friendship is simple, yet profound. I like the idea that you have to be very vulnerable and intentional in this type of relationship. At the end of the day, your intimacy with your spiritual friend is what drives the relationship, and I think that is important. David Benner does a commendable job of laying out biblical principles of how this can play out. I particularly liked the notion that we are to embrace our humanity in the process. It speaks highly of the notion that we are not to become more divine, but more humane, in light of who God originally designed us to be. I also appreciated the part that discussed how a spousal relationship can pursue a spiritual friendship and the benefits that it provides.

My main criticism of the book is that it could have been more concise. Realistically, it could have communicated the same message in about 2/3 of the length. Additionally, I think it would have been better to separate the subjects of Spiritual Friendship and Spiritual Direction into two books. Sometimes, I found the dividing line between the two relationships blurry at best. Overall, I recommend the book for anyone who wants to learn about Spiritual Friendship and how it can be pursued in their life.

FAVORITE PASSAGE:

“A soul friendship is therefore a relationship to which I bring my whole self, especially my inner self. And the care that I offer for the other person in a soul friendship is a care for his or her whole self, especially the inner self. Soul friends seek to safeguard each other’s uniqueness and nurture the growth of each other’s inner self. They seek to meet each other as whole people and help each other become whole people. They offer each other the sacred gift of accompaniment on the human journey.”

– Aaron

Leave a comment